State law makers and tribes to host public discussion on salmon in Lynnwood

  OLYMPIA – Anglers, commercial fishers, and others interested in salmon in Washington can take part in an informal discussion with state and tribal fish managers on April 3. The public meeting is scheduled to begin at 1 p.m. at the Lynnwood Embassy Suites, 20610 44th Ave. W., Lynnwood. The plenary session takes place during the annual salmon season-setting …

Restrictions Coming in 2018 to Southeast Alaska Chinook Fisheries

  (Juneau) — Chinook (king) salmon fisheries in Southeast Alaska are facing restrictions in 2018 as fisheries managers work to increase escapement and rebuild stocks affected by several years of poor marine survival. The restrictions — to be shared by commercial, sport, personal use, and subsistence fisheries — are needed as forecasts project record-low Chinook …

Anglers can keep 2 hatchery chinook per day in Marine Area 9 beginning March 30th

Photo Courtesy of Big King Salmon Charters   WDFW Fishing Rule Change   Action: Increases the daily limit for salmon to two fish in Marine Area 9 (Admiralty Inlet). Effective Date: March 30 through April 15, 2018. Species affected: Chinook salmon. Location: Marine Area 9, excluding year-round fishing piers. Reason for action: Preliminary estimates through March 18 indicate that the …

Steelhead daily limit to increase on the lower Hanford Reach, and Ringold bank fishery

Photo courtesy of Dave’s Guide Service   WDFW Fishing Rule Change   Area 1: Columbia River from Hwy.395 Bridge at Pasco to the old Hanford townsite wooden powerline towers: Effective date: Immediately through March 31, 2018 Daily limit: Two (2) hatchery steelhead Area 2: Ringold area bank fishery Effective date: Immediately through April 15, 2018 Daily limit: Two (2) …

Tribal fisherman sentenced for selling sturgeon and salmon

  RIDGEFIELD – A Klickitat County Superior Court judge has sentenced a Columbia River tribal fisherman to four months in jail and fined him $1,050 for illegally selling sturgeon and chinook salmon, concluding a case sparked by a tip to the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW). Donnell Frank, 46, of Portland, Ore., pleaded …

Top 10 All Inclusive Fishing Lodges in the Pacific Northwest

1.) Black Fish Lodge https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=blackfish-lodge   2.) Tofino Ospray Lodge https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=tofino-ospray-lodge 3.) Eagle Nook Resort https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=eagle-nook-resort   4.) Alaska’s Anvik River Lodge https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=alaskas-anvik-river-lodge   5.) Anglers Alibi https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=anglers-alibi   6.) Kenai Riverside Fishing https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=kenai-riverside-fishing   7.) Salmon Catcher Lodge https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=salmon-catcher-lodge   8.) Alaska Trophy Adventures Lodge https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=alaska-trophy-adventures-lodge   9.) Coastal Springs Float Lodge https://fishlodges.com/lodge/?lodge=coastal-springs-float-lodge 10.) Silvertip Lodge …

Best fishing lodges that offer guided fishing trips in BC.

  Canada is renowned for excellent fishing with a vast number of rivers and streams, inland lakes, and rugged coastal regions all teeming with fish to be caught. Amid this angler utopia, many all-inclusive fishing lodges provide not only a guided fishing experience of a lifetime but a complete all-inclusive package including meals and accommodations …

Salmon leave Leaburg, to be sent to other hatcheries

  SALEM, Ore.—Many of the 1.75 million juvenile fish evacuated from Cascade Hatchery in Cascade Locks after last year’s Eagle Creek Fire in the Gorge are now on their way from the Pacific Northwest’s rivers to the Columbia River and eventually, the Pacific Ocean. The evacuation was due to the threat of debris flow when storms passed …

WDFW approves Two-day razor clam dig in the beginning March 16th

  OLYMPIA – Razor clam diggers can return to various ocean beaches for a two-day opening beginning March 16. State shellfish managers with the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) approved the dig on evening low tides after marine toxin tests showed the clams are safe to eat. “Last weekend, we had a great turnout …

WDFW Commission will hear comments on hunting seasons, Columbia River fisheries at Wenatchee meeting March 15th-17th

  OLYMPIA – The Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission will invite public comments on 2018-2020 hunting season proposals, Columbia River fisheries policy, and other issues during a public meeting March 15-17 in Wenatchee. The commission, a citizen panel appointed by the governor to set policy for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW), will convene in …